Relevant Faculties, Departments, and Chairs of the FAU

FAU has five faculties which cover the entire spectrum of academic disciplines – from medicine, sciences, and engineering to humanities, social sciences and theology as well as business and economics. In the IIS master, the Chairs at the Department of Business and Economics within the Faculty of Business, Economics, and Law and the Department of Informatics within the Faculty of Engineering (“TechFak”) participate in the study program.


Faculties of the FAU

Faculty of Engineering

Faculty of Business, Economics, and Law

Department of Informatics: Relevant Chairs

Chair of Informatics 1 IT Security Infrastructures Prof. Dr. F. Freiling
Chair of Informatics 2 Programming Systems Prof. Dr. Michael Philippsen
Chair of Informatics 3 Computer Architecture Prof. Dr. Dietmar Fey
Chair of Informatics 4 Distributed Systems and Operating Systems Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Schröder-Preikschat
Chair of Informatics 5 Pattern Recognition Prof. Dr.-Ing. Joachim Hornegger
Chair of Informatics 6 Data Management Prof. Dr. Klaus Meyer-Wegener
Chair of Informatics 7 Computer Networks and Communication Systems Prof. Dr.-Ing. Reinhard German
Chair of Informatics 8 Theoretical Computer Science Prof. Dr. Lutz Schröder
Chair of Informatics 9 Computer Graphics Prof. Dr. Güther Greiner
Chair of Informatics 10 System Simulation Prof. Dr. Ulrich Rüde
Chair of Informatics 11 Software Engineering Prof. Dr. Francesca Saglietti
Chair of Informatics 12 Hardware-Software-Co-Design Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Teich
Professorship for Didactics of Informatics Didaktik der Informatik Prof. Dr. Ralf Romeike
Professorship for High Performance Computing High Performance Computing Prof. Dr. Gerhard Wellein
Professorship for Open Source Software Open Source Software Prof. Dr. Dirk Riehle
Chair of Medical Informatics Medizinische Informatik Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Prokosch

 Department of Business and Economics: Relevant Chairs

Chair of International Management Prof. Dr. Dirk Holtbrügge
Chair of Information Systems (Innovation & Value Creation) Prof. Dr. Kathrin M. Möslein
Chair of Information Systems (Services, Processes, and Intelligence) Prof. Dr. Freimut Bodendorf
Chair of Information Systems (IT-Management) Prof. Dr. Michael Amberg
Chair of Digital Industrial Service Systems Prof. Dr. Martin Matzner
Chair of Information Systems (Digitalization of Work and Life) Prof. Dr. Sven Laumer
Chair of Information Systems (Technical Information Systems) Prof. Dr. Andreas Harth
Assistant Professorship of Information Systems Prof. Dr. Steffi Haag
Assistant Professorship for Digital Transformation Prof. Dr. Verena Tiefenbeck